How to publish Asp web sites with command prompt

I wanted to run a Continues Integration for my company and I set up Team City at first. It is a great application which works very nice and I configured it easily. Unfortunately our portal is one of the old asp.net website so that I couldn’t use Team City to publish my website because it work just with Web Application.

Then I try to use MSBuild for compiling and publishing my website and it wasn’t a good solution in order to the type of projects. Finally I had to use AspNetCompiler. It is a compiler to publish and build Asp.net website and you have to customize it to work with your project. Here are steps in which I did to publish my website via command line.

1 – Create a XML file with desire name next to your Portal Solution (portal.sln). I use this name “AutomateBuildConfiguration.xml”.

2 – Then you have to configure this XML file with this instruction. For me following configuration was enough:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Project xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/developer/msbuild/2003">
  <Target Name="PrecompileWeb">
    <AspNetCompiler
        VirtualPath="/Web"
        PhysicalPath="F:\Build_Automation\trunk\src\Portal\Web\"
        TargetPath="F:\Build_Automation\trunk\src\Portal\PrecompiledWeb\Web\"
        Force="true"
        Debug="true"
        FixedNames="True" />
  </Target>
</Project>

3 – You have to open one of the visual studio command line from this path :

StartMenu > All Programs > Microsoft Visual Studio 2008 > Visual Studio Tools > Visual Studio 2008 x64 Cross Tools Command Prompt.exe

I used a x64 system and chose above command line, you are free to use your own.

4 – change your path up to your XML file

5 – Use below command to publish your website

MSBuild AutomateBuildConfiguration.xml /p:Configuration=Release

6 – Enjoy your coffee, and after a while, It’s finished you already publish your website.

2 Responses to How to publish Asp web sites with command prompt

  1. tom says:

    nice man. thank you very much

  2. Andrew says:

    How do I prevent my TargetPath to have its contents deleted if the build failed?

Leave a Reply

